Dr. Andreas Korn-Müller 
 aka »Magic Andy« 

Andreas Korn-Mueller studied chemistry in record time (did the boy really enjoy his student days?!), diploma examination with "very good" in the 9th semester (comment from a professor: "You have the courage to take a gap"), diploma thesis in the 10th semester, then move to Munich for his dissertation at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry.

In the oral exam he got the highest grade (three times the single zero) and thus completed his doctoral thesis with “summa cum laude” in October 1994.​

HIV research and the application of chemistry in medicine Dr. Korn-Müller has always been particularly interested. Therefore, he joined a post-doc position at the Max von Pettenkofer Institute at the University of Munich, where he worked for 1 1/2 years in an L3 high-security laboratory with AIDS viruses and protease inhibitors.

"My great passion has always been chemistry, which I ultimately
turned into a profession."

From 1989-1992 he performed together with his twin brother as "Doppelkorn" on cabaret and in youth bistros in the entertainment arts and comedy. During his PhD at the Max Planck Institute, he combined his talent as an entertainer with his fun in experiments for the first time on March 25, 1993 at a farewell party. This finally resulted in a chemistry show ("A Chemist’s Comedy"), which Dr. Korn-Müller premiered as "Magic Andy" on December 4th, 1994 at the University of Munich (LMU). "Chemical Wild West" – the science show with smoking guns and dynamite is a gripping and award-winning science theater, the premiere of which took place on December 14, 2000 in the Audimax at University of Bielefeld. Since 2003 there has been "The Fire Show: The Magic of Flames & Fire" – and since 2004 "The Crazy Chemistry Lab" – the show for children's non-fiction book. In the program since 2006: "High Energy – the energy spectacle" and in 2007 the award-winning "HIV BioChemistry Show" about the immune system and the AIDS virus. The "Light Show – bright & colorful" has been available since 2013 and since 2017: "Wow – What your body can do" – the show for children's non-fiction book.

Since 1997 Dr. Korn-Müller works as a freelancer in various fields: in addition to his science comedy shows, as a research assistant for exhibitions (Deutsches Museum Munich, Deutsches Hygiene-Museum Dresden, Technical Museum Dresden) and as a non-fiction author.

"I'm an optimistic guy, a Rhineland cheerful person."

Previously, he was totally shy, hard to believe. The teachers always despaired of him: “Written so well, but man, Andreas, why do you never say anything or don't report to class?!”

In September 1996, after his lecture (virus = box of chocolates) at the World AIDS Conference in Vancouver, his research came to an end, because the Deutsches Museum pulled him ashore, under its spell, and made it possible for him to do what he had wanted to do for a long time, but as a serious basic researcher standing in the laboratory, he never quite dared to admit it:

 

Entertainer for science!

To the shows

A Chemist’s Comedy – Magic Andy's Fantastic Chemistry Show
The Crazy Chem Lab – the show for the book
The Magic of Flames & Fire – Magic Andy’s Fire Show

bright & colorful – Magic Andy's Light Show
high energy – Magic Andy‘s Energy Show
Chemical Wild West – science show with smoking guns and dynamite

HIV Biochemistry Show – model show about our immune system and the AIDS virus

WOW: What your body can do! – The show for the book

 

 

Inquiries about individual shows are also gladly taken into account,

so there are always special shows on certain topics such as:

 

BANG - molecules in action
steam, hiss, sparkle - Magic Andy’s water show
Magic Andy’s magic colors
The healthy-stay show
Magic Andy’s luminous show

sweet and sticky - The Sugar Show

The Climate Show

Upcoming events

Dr. Andreas Korn-Müller 

 alias »Magic Andy« 

Korn-Müller hat Chemie in Rekordzeit studiert (hat der Junge eigentlich die Studentenzeit so richtig genießen können?!), Diplomprüfung mit »sehr gut« im 9. (Kommentar eines Profs: »Sie haben Mut zur Lücke«), Diplomarbeit im 10. Semester, dann Wechsel zur Promotion nach München ans Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie.

In der mündlichen Prüfung hat er die Höchstnote eingeheimst (dreimal die Einskommanull) und somit seine Doktorarbeit mit “summa cum laude” im Oktober 1994 abgeschlossen.

Die AIDS-Forschung und die Anwendung der Chemie in der Medizin hat Dr. Korn-Müller schon immer besonders interessiert. Daher schloss er eine post-doc Tätigkeit am Max von Pettenkofer-Institut der Uni München an, wo er 1 1/2 Jahre in einem L3-Hochsicherheitslabor mit AIDS-Viren und Protease-Hemmstoffen gearbeitet hat.

"Meine große Leidenschaft ist seit jeher die Chemie, die ich letztendlich
zum Beruf gemacht habe."

Von 1989-1992 trat er zusammen mit seinem Zwillingsbruder als »Doppelkorn« an Kleinkunstbühnen und in Jugendbistros in der Unterhaltungskunst/Comedy auf. Während seiner Promotion am Max-Planck-Institut kombinierte er erstmals am 25.03.1993 bei einer Verabschiedungsfeier sein Talent als Entertainer mit seinem Spaß an Experimenten. Daraus entstand schließlich über mehrere kleineren Auftritte eine Chemie-Show (»A Chemist’s Comedy«), die Dr. Korn-Müller als »Magic Andy« am 04.12.1994 an der Uni München (LMU) uraufgeführt hat. »Chemical Wild West« – Die Wissenschaftsshow mit rauchenden Colts und Dynamit ist ein packendes und preisgekröntes Wissenschaftstheater, dessen Premiere am 14.12.2000 im Audimax der Uni Bielefeld stattfand. Seit 2003 gibt es »Die Feuer-Show: Flammenzauber & Feuerkunst« – und seit 2004 »Das verrückte Chemie-Labor« – Die Show zum Kindersachbuch. Seit 2006 im Programm: »high energy – Das Energie- Spektakel« und 2007 die preisgekrönte »HIV-BioChemie Show« über das das Immunsystem und das Aids-Virus. Ab 2013 steht die »Licht-Show – lichterloh & farbenfroh« und seit 2017: »Wow - Was dein Körper alles kann« – Die Show zum Kindersachbuch.

Seit 1997 ist Dr. Korn-Müller freiberuflich auf verschiedenen Feldern tätig: neben seinen Science-Comedy-Shows als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter für Ausstellungen (Deutsches Museum München, Deutsches Hygiene-Museum Dresden, Technische Sammlungen Dresden) sowie als Sachbuchautor.

"Ich bin ein optimistischer Typ, eine rheinländische Frohnatur."

Früher total schüchtern, kaum zu glauben. Die Lehrer verzweifelten immer an ihm: “Schriftlich so gut, aber Mensch, Andreas, warum sagst du nie etwas oder meldest dich nicht im Unterricht?!”

Im September 1996 war nach seinem Vortrag bei der Welt AIDS-Konferenz (Virus = Pralinenschachtel) in Vancouver Schluss mit der Forschung, denn das Deutsche Museum zog ihn an Land, in seinen Bann und ermöglichte ihm, was er seit langem gerne tun wollte, aber es als im Labor stehender, seriöser Grundlagenforscher nie ganz richtig einzugestehen traute:

 

Entertainer für die Naturwissenschaft!

Zu den Shows

A Chemist’s Comedy – Magic Andy’s fantastische Chemie-Show
Das verrückte Chemie-Labor – Die Show zum Buch
Flammenzauber & Feuerkunst – Magic Andy’s Feuer-Show

lichterloh & farbenfroh – Magic Andys Licht-Show
High Energy – Magic Andy‘s Energie-Show
Chemical Wild West – Wissenschaftsshow mit rauchenden Colts und Dynamit

HIV Biochemie Show – Modellshow über unser Immunsystem und das AIDS-Virus

WOW: Was dein Körper alles kann! – Die Show zum Buch

Anfragen zu individuellen Shows werden auch gerne berücksichtigt,
so gibt es immer wieder auch Sonder-Shows zu bestimmten Themen wie u.a:

knall, bumm, peng – Moleküle in action
dampf, zisch, sprudel – Magic Andy’s Wasser-Show
Magic Andy’s Farbenzauber
Die brodelnde Gesund-Bleiben-Show
Magic Andy’s Brodelbude
süß und klebrig – Die Zucker-Show

Zur Zeit gibt es keine bevorstehenden Veranstaltungen
  • Science Comedy / YouTube
  • Science Comedy / Google

© 2020 Science Comedy / Dr. Andreas Korn-Müller / Dresden / show@sciencecomedy.com